Sue Rugge Memorial Award

Sue Rugge photoIn lasting memory of her unique spirit of sharing expertise, experience, and knowledge to advance the independent information profession, the Association of Independent Information Professionals (AIIP) in 1999 established the Sue Rugge Memorial Award.

The award is given to a Full member of AIIP who has significantly helped another member or members through formal or informal mentoring. The award is presented at the AIIP Annual Conference.


Sue Rugge, widely regarded as the pioneer of the independent information industry, was an active member of AIIP and served as president in 1988-1989. She demonstrated success in writing with The Information Broker's Handbook and in business with Information on Demand and The Information Professionals Institute.

Beyond her principal endeavors, Sue is fondly remembered by many AIIP members as a mentor in the purest form.

Nominations & award process


Read more about AIIP award recipients on the AIIP Connections blog

Year Recipient
Udo Hohlfeld
Ruth Balkin
Arthur Weiss
Margaret King
Jennifer Burke
Carol Compton
Jan Knight
Mary Ellen Bates
Jan Sykes
2015 Margaret King
2014 Jane John
2013 Debbie Bardon
2012 Judy Koren
2011 Marcy Phelps
2010 Amelia Kassel
2009 Ulla de Stricker
2008 Risa Sacks
2007 Ed Vawter
2006 Cindy Shamel
2005 Jodi Gregory
2003 Barbara Quint
2002 Amelia Kassel
2001 Alice Sizer Warner
2000 Mary Ellen Bates

Page updated April 29, 2024

AIIP: Association of Independent Information Professionals:  Knowledge Delivered

Association of Independent Information Professionals

8550 United Plaza Blvd #1001
Baton Rouge, LA 70809

© 2024 Association of Independent Information Professionals
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software