Roger Summit Lecture Award Honorees

Roger SummitPast Presidents of the Association of Independent Information Professionals (AIIP) fund the Roger Summit Lecture Award to bring an inspiring and stimulating speaker to AIIP's annual professional development and networking event.

The award is named to recognize Roger Summit, the founder of DIALOG and a long-time AIIP supporter. Summit has inspired members with his demonstration of self-renewal and continual learning through dialogue at professional conferences and meetings, including several AIIP conferences.

Roger Summit delivered the first lecture in the series in 1999, setting a precedent for lively exchange between the award speaker and AIIP members at the conference. Now in retirement, he has continued to be a major figure in the field of online information retrieval.

2024 Susan Tenby
 Online community builder at TechSoup
 Tony Zanders
 Software entrepreneur; founder and CEO of Skilltype
2022 Jill Hurst-Wahl
 Consultant, speaker, writer, researcher, and educator
2021 Emily Binder
 Entrepreneur, speaker, and founder of Beetle Moment Marketing and WealthVoice
2020 Joyce Ward
 Taxonomist and ontologist; expert in making information findable
2019 Susan Feldman
 Expert in cognitive computing, search, and text analytics
2018 Clare Hart
 Innovative leader in the information services industry

Anne Caputo

Specialist in information management, content licensing, and user behavior

2016   Bruce Rosenstein   Author, biographer, instructor, and librarian
2015   Elizabeth Trudell   Information industry stalwart and Columbia University lecturer  
2014   Lee Rainie   Director of Internet & Technology Research, Pew Research Center  
2013   Aaron Templer   Visionary in authentic branding and marketing; lecturer on social leadership
2012   Angie Hicks   Founder, Angie's List
2011   David Meerman Scott   Best-selling author on marketing and leadership
2010   Peter Shankman   Founder, Help A Reporter Out (HARO)
2009   Stephen Abram   Library and information industry strategist and advocate
2008   James Surowiecki   Author, The Wisdom of Crowds; economics columnist at The New Yorker magazine
2007   Peter Morville   Pioneer in information architecture
2006   Pamela McCorduck   Explorer of frontiers in artificial intelligence
2005   John Schwartz   Science reporter for The New York Times
2004   Tim Andrews   CEO of Factiva, a leading information solutions provider
2001   Dr. Carlos A. Cuadra   Creator of the Cuadra Directory of Online Databases
2000   Dr. Matthew Koll   Search technology expert and founder of 410 Labs
1999   Dr. Roger Summit   Founder of DIALOG Information Services

Page updated April 1, 2024

AIIP: Association of Independent Information Professionals:  Knowledge Delivered

Association of Independent Information Professionals

8550 United Plaza Blvd #1001
Baton Rouge, LA 70809

© 2024 Association of Independent Information Professionals
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software